Recipe troubles, garden update and chickens, or shall I say, “chicken”

Last night’s dinner didn’t go as smoothly as planned. It seemed easy enough – don’t they all though?

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons nonfat plain yogurt
  • 3 tablespoons reduced-fat mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons shopped fresh mint
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 medium zucchini, finely diced
  • 1 large cucumber, finely diced
  • 1 bunch radishes, finely diced
  • 1 15-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed
  • 4 large lettuce leaves, for serving

Whisk yogurt, mayo, lemon juice, mint, garlic, honey and salt in small bowl until creamy. Toss zucchini, bell pepper, radishes and chickpeas in a large bowl. Pour the dressing over the veggies, toss gently. To serve, spoon into lettuce leaves , using them as cups. Yes, those were the directions exactly as they are written in the newsletter, “bell pepper”, I’m not the only one that skims :), so mine didn’t have the bell pepper….. I used yogurt from our CSA which is rather runny. It didn’t occur to me at the time that runny yogurt in this makes runny filling. I tried to add more and more honey in hopes that it would thicken it up a little but but that didn’t work. Now with so much honey in it is was a little sweet but still runny. So runny that I ended up using it as salad dressing instead 🙂

Doesn’t look like much but I might now have a new favorite salad dressing.

The garden has been growing like MAD! I noticed a huge change in how quickly things were progressing after I started using the Sea Green and tomato and vegetable fertilizer that I bought from  garden center near my work, Top Garden Products. Here are some pics of how it looked today. The cabbage and broccoli have taken quite the abuse from cabbage worms but seem to be recovering well.

Happy Garden

Happy garden… wish I could say the same for the chickens…..

Remember that raccoon problem that I thought I had licked. I “took out” 5 of them in our back yard. Haven’t seen one since. Well, I still haven’t seen any, but I’m speculating that our chickens have. You see, I came home yesterday evening, only to find 3 of our chickens murdered. S’more (one of our original three) was murdered inside the coop, the other two must have made a run for their lives and were outside the coop in seperate corners of the yard. As much trauma that was inflicted on them, I could only assume that it was raccoons. A couple of our neighbors have cats that roam around, but I don’t think their cats were big enough to inflict so much damage. This is the last of our chickens…

And she still doesn’t have a name yet…. 😦

It was so sad. I found her hiding in the corner of our fence. Whenever I got close she would freak out and try to peck me. I got her calmed down and placed her into the coop. She seemed to be doing ok this morning. Hopefully she will still lay eggs.

I found a place that sells, Harbor Freight Tools, the kind of trap I rented, for even cheaper than I rented it. I am going to have to buy one and see what is out there before I buy more chickens. I’ll also have to be more vigilant at locking them up as evening approaches. Even if they don’t seem to be ready to “go to bed”. Kids….

4 thoughts on “Recipe troubles, garden update and chickens, or shall I say, “chicken”

    • Thanks! I only planted half this year thinking that we would plant the rest together. Hopefully I could take care of whatever critter keeps killing our chickens. I am almost positive it’s raccoons. The other nights massacre brings the score to – raccoons 8 / me 5, crazy.

    • hmmmm… this whole thing is pretty new to me. I think it was just last year I started my FB account. I have no clue what Pinterest is…. lol

Leave a Reply

