“ERACING the Past, Moving Forward” (not a typo) :)

“ERACING the Past, Moving Forward”

—- Burning River 100 Mile Endurance Run

;

Ok.. I am so stinking far behind! This blog post is really going to suck and will be more of a photo explosion vs. me telling you what is going on this time — you’ll soon see why. Well, here it goes — deep breath and GO!

SUMMER CSA –

Summer CSA Week 7

Fresh Fork Market, Small share contents:

  • 1 dozen pasture raised chicken eggs
  • 1 piece havarti from Mayfield Road Creamery (8 oz)
  • 2 ct zucchini or squash
  • 1 bunch carrots or 1 bunch beets (switching from last week)
  • 1 lb whole wheat linguini
  • 6 ears sweet corn
  • 1 lb green beans
  • 1-2 bulb onions depending on size
  • 1 lb apricots

I absolutely LOVE this corn. I don’t know what it is about it but throw that stuff on the grill, and OMG it is fantastic! I’ve really been slacking making dinners lately – again, you will soon see why – so we have been eating lots of things that are quick from the grill. Things like these turkey burger wraps, with tomatoes, some smoked gouda, lettuce, and a little bit of low fat mayo w/ olive oil. Super quick, easy and dang tasty! šŸ™‚

This is how I like to cook my corn

Turkey Burger Wraps and Corn

And to get into why we’ve been so rushed lately….

FOOTBALL!! –

We are gearing up for football season. And it has been confirmed. My daughter, Emily, is the ONLY girl in the entire LEAUGE! Don’t let her playing football mislead you. She loves to get mani/pedi’s, wear cute little skirts, and her “fancy shoes” as she calls them but she is one tough little kid who loves to knock around the boys!

Equipment pickup!! Notice Emily’s fashion sense!

Now that we have the gear it’s time to for more football camps and practices. They had football camp at the High School the past three days. Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday; starting at 5:30pm and ending at 8:30pm! Did I mention that it has been in the 90’s the past few days? Yeah, it has. Football camp went well and again Emily was the only girl there. I think at first the boys were a little apprehensive about Emily being there – except for the once that knew her. Day one they spent doing conditioning drills, day two the split it up between offensive and defensive drills, then day three they played a 7 on 7 tournament ending with a “Super Bowl” and crowning of an MVP.

Emily — Eastlake North High School Football Camp 2012, Superbowl MVP. Crowned with her own North High Football helmet

That’s right, she ROCKS! I am so proud of her! Her team faced Jeremy’s team in their Superbowl and Emily’s came out on top! Eat your heart out boys! This morning out of the blue my sister emailed me about a conversation she had with a friend the other day.

Awesome, huh?

Now football is consuming an incredible amount of time, all the while Jeremy still has all star baseball games and I’m winding down BR100 training… Prepare for a photosplash of running pics.

BURNING RIVER 100 MILE TRAINING –

ERACING the past, moving forward….. How appropriate is this slogan for this race as it applies to my blog!

Mike, Margie and Charlie

Mike and I

Wild blackberries on our route

Stopping for a little snack

This week is a taper week so we really stepped down the mileage. After an easy 12 miles in the trails I decided to ride my bike up to Yoga (which I’ve missed terribly because of our long weekend runs) then rode to work, and home; closing out a “quick” 20 mile ride to round out my day.

GARDEN / CHICKEN UPDATE

The garden is doing great! The chickens, not so well. Our last chicken was murdered by a creature in our back yard. This time I know it was a raccoon because I saw it no more than 5 minutes after the attack. I went off and bought some traps and so far I caught a possum, AND another raccoon. And to top it off, I was sitting on our couch the other night, it was around 11:30/12:00am when I looked out our front window and there was a coyote in our front yard!

First capture in the new traps

This has GOT to be the murderer from the other day

Not sure what I am going to do about the coyote, but the traps have been empty for the last couple days. After my upcoming races, I’ll be ready to purchase more chickens. I really miss the eggs. While the eggs we get from our CSA – they pale in comparison.

There is so much more that I want to blog about, hello? You still with me? Kinda all over the place, huh?……. But I could go on and on and on…

Let me leave you with this – this weekend is the biggest race of my life (so far). All my training has been leading up to this, the Burning River 100 Mile Endurance Run. I have 30 hours to complete this with some of my closest and newest friends. I’ll give all the details in my next post but here is a glimpse.

Entire route – just over 100 miles

Some of us “crazies”

If you are bored this weekend follow me along this journey. Click on this link (Ultralive.net) and enter my bib number 1275. It’ll give real time updates as to when I check into an aid station, when I leave and my elapsed time. Or, if you are really, REALLY bored you could view the runners packet and read more about this amazing event.

Then once this 100 mile race is done, next week I have a 175 mile bike ride to do!!!

Which brings me to my final thought for the night. I am truly blessed with amazing friends and family. To ride the 175 mile bike (BikeMS) I had to raise $250.00. I met my goal the other day and am truly thankful to all those that helped. A close friend of mine, Brian, is also riding with me (actually I am riding with him – he is the one responsible for getting me into ultra trail running and now crazy long bike rides like this!) Please help Brian out with any donations you can make. You can click on this link and it’ll take you to his donation page. Thanks!

What are you doing active this weekend? Are you training for anyting?

Wish me luck!!! Let’s Do this!!!!

3 thoughts on ““ERACING the Past, Moving Forward” (not a typo) :)

Leave a Reply

