Summer CSA Goodness

We are currently on week 11 of our summer CSA program with The Fresh Fork Market CSA.  I love this time of the year and I love being able to buy extras off the back of the truck.

This time I thought I would include and excerpt from the newsletter we receive from Trevor (owner).  Love the way he describes everything (and I got lazy :))

Summer CSA Week 11

 

Week 11 Summer CSA Package

Posted by on 8:33 am, Aug 14, 2012 in Bag Contents | 5 comments

Grassfed Ground Beef, Peaches, Heirloom Tomatoes, Red Skin Potatoes, Sweet Corn, and more

 

We’ve got a big bag this week! Lots of goodies going in it. We’ll start by having one of my favorite roasting potatoes, the Red Norland red-skinned potato. These potatoes are coming from one of my first growers, Jonas Hershberger, in West Salem, OH. Jonas, without the internet or a phone, somehow found me before I even got started in 2008. He introduced me to a few of his neighbors and started my first grower cluster in the greater Lodi/Homerville settlement (Amish community). For the last 4 years my favorite product from Jonas has been his potatoes, which he has gladly expanded production on each year. This year his family (kids I’ve watched grow up cleaning potatoes) will harvest, clean, and pack nearly 8 tons of potatoes!

This week’s other feature product is grassfed ground beef. I know many of you opted to buy some the last couple weeks from the back of the truck, so you know already how good it is (which we’ll have extra for sale again this week). The benefits of 100% grassfed are many. First, it is the only “all natural” diet for bovine. Cattle are ruminants, which mean they have a multi-chambered stomach that allows them to break down cellulose (plant based fiber) and unlock the nutrients they need for life. Cattle can live 100% off of grass and therefore should.

This also has benefits to the consumer. The meat is higher in nutrients and minerals, has a healthy dose of CLAs and Omega 3 fatty acids, and is a good source of protein. This lean ground beef is also just plain tasty.

The odd-ball ingredient this week is fennel. Don’t worry, Parker is working hard on some recipes and uses for you which we’ll share later in the week.

Small CSA Share

  • 3# bag red norland potatoes
  • 1/2 dozen sweet corn
  • 1 bunch leeks (may be 1 leek depending on size)
  • 1 bulb fennel
  • Approx 1.5 lbs heirloom tomatoes
  • 2 oz basil
  • Approx 2 lbs slicing tomatoes
  • 1 lb grassfed ground beef
  • Approx 2 lbs peaches
  • 1-2 eggplant, depending on size

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it or not, but there are three different subscriptions.  I have the small share.  There also is a large share and a vegetarian share – You could visit their website and check them out.

One of this weekend’s dinner didn’t go over so well (with me either).  I grilled up eggplant, peppers, zucchini, and corn.  Everything was really good and the kids enjoyed it – except the eggplant.  I don’t blame them, for some reason  wasn’t a fan of it this time either.  Oh, well next time I’ll try it a bit differently.

Love grilling

Looked decent enough

Corn and zucchini went over well

Eggplant — yeah. Not so much!

Any suggestions for cooking eggplant?? 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Summer CSA Goodness

Leave a Reply

