Summer CSA — My last package

It seems like it has been forever since I made a CSA post… an actual CSA post in which I did something other than copy and paste what Trevor had said on his website.  This one may be starting out that way, but I do have at least ONE thing to contribute as well – honest.  Unfortunately I missed my week 22 pickup and this is my last package for the season.  I opted out of the winter CSA program not because I didn’t want it but I have a lot going on lately and like many others, things are tight. I’m already looking forward to next year’s Summer CSA!

Summer CSA – Week 21

Week 21 Summer CSA Package

Posted by on 8:23 am, Oct 23, 2012 in Bag Contents | 2 comments

New cheese, rutabagas, spelt flour and rosemary linguini, and more 

I’m very excited about the cheese in this week’s bag.  One of my producers, Aden Keim, had sprung a surprise on me last spring when he told me that he was finishing building a goat creamery.  I was shocked because I had figured he might ask me what I would be interested in buying before just building a creamery.  But sometimes Amish guys skip that step and just do it.

I told him I was concerned that there wasn’t a significant market for Grade A fresh goat milk. It is popular with some nursing women, but other than that I haven’t seen much of a market.  And I reminded him that soft goat cheeses, like chevre, are available from at least 4 different creameries in Ohio, 3 in NEO.

So in July he handed me a sample of his goat gouda.  It was very firm, smelly, and just downright delicious.  It didn’t have any “goat” taste to it.  It reminded me of some of the best cow goudas I’ve ever had.  I immediately put in a large order that took him most of the summer to fill.  This week it is ready and will be in your CSA bags.

In addition to this new cheese, we have a custom fresh linguini coming from Ohio City Pasta.  It is a spelt flour and rosemary linguini, which should go excellent with some roasted cauliflower and a little butter or olive oil.

For produce, we have our first rutabagas.  The rutabaga is essentially a turnip, in fact it is also called the yellow turnip.  After meeting with Parker last night, it is apparently his new favorite vegetable.  He had a very good experience with it this past weekend and his recipes will be shared on the blog this week.  The rutabagas will come with their tops on, which can also be used similar to collard greens or turnip greens.  Perhaps roast the rutabaga and toss it with some sauted rutabaga greens…

For the large customers this week, there will be one choice.  I usually stay away from non-food items in the CSA, but I know most of you also have young children.  This week we have some very nice carving pumpkins available just in time for Halloween.  If you prefer to get food, you can get a bag of the heirloom corn chips.

So here is this week’s full package:

Summer Week 21:

Small CSA Share

  • 1 head either savoy green cabbage or red cabbage (smaller heads)
  • 1 bunch kale
  • 1 to 2 rutabagas with tops, depending on size (some are rather large)
  • 3# bag red norland potatoes
  • Approx 1# onion
  • 1 head cauliflower
  • 1 8 oz piece goat gouda
  • 1 lb Spelt Flour and Rosemary Linguini

Large CSA Share Small contents above plus:

  • 2# roma tomatoes
  • 1 bunch swiss chard
  • 1 package sirloin pork chops, approx 1.5#
  • 1 carving pumpkin or bag of corn chips

Vegan Share (in place of cheese)

  • 1 pint grape tomatoes
  • 1 bunch beets with tops
  • 1 package veggie burgers

I thought that once football had ended things would slow down, but alas… they haven’t.  We’ve had some pretty good dinners lately; spinach and feta stuffed salmon (cheated tho – these were store bought, but DAMN good!), city chicken from our CSA, several Ohio City Pasta dishes, and the old stand-bye’s of cabbage and noodles or Sausage and Cabbage.  Unfortunately I was lazy and didn’t take any pics or list any of the recipes but I did have one BIG surprise.  The spinach and feta stuffed salmon was a hit!  Jeremy loved it, Emily tolerated it but asked for “Grandpa’s perch” instead. 🙂

Spinach and feta stuffed salmon, garden rice and asparagus

Emily picked out the asparagus and chose the thinnest ones she could find.  Jeremy cooked them up his way – soy sauce, seaseme seads and honey.. They may not have looked like much but they were tasty!

Jeremy.Loved.It

WHAT??? Em’s has fish on her fork, it’s not perch AND she’s smiling??

So, these were from about a week or so ago.  Jeremy has been asking for this again since.  I made it again, but this time in place of the asparagus I gave them the option of soup or mixed veggies — the mixed veggies were nothing but store bought.  But the soup?  MMMMM my first ever pot full of Squash Soup, so  good!

Squash Soup

This was my first attempt at it and HOLY SMOKES was it good!

Here is what I did – all the ingredients are from Fresh Fork, except for the green peppers.

  • Two butternut squashes (one large, one medium)
  • Red peppers
  • Green peppers (from out garden)
  • onions
  • chicken broth
  • sweet potatoes
  • fresh crushed pepper

I chopped up all the veggies and cooked them in a large pot with about 2tbls of butter for about 5min.  After that I added chicken stock to the pot, enough to cover the veggies.  Brought that to a boil and let simmer till all the veggies were softened.  After they were softened I transferred the mixture to my blender and blended it.  I was happy with the consistency of it so I didn’t add anymore broth.  Served it up in a bowl, added a bit of plain yogurt to the mixture and viola 🙂

So – back to my options for veggies at tonight’s dinner.  Emily chose the mixed veggies – broccoli, cauliflower and bean.  Jeremy chose the soup.  Afterwards Emily said she should have had soup as well.

One more surprise for tonight?  The kids and I were out tonight and decided to get a snack.  We stopped at DQ Orange Julius and Emily had her usual chocolate chip cookie dough blizzard wth extra cookie dough.  Jeremy normally gets a flurry or slushy or something but tonight?  Tonight he said, “could I just have a water and have another bowl of soup when we get home for snack tonight?”… why yes kid.  Yes.You.Can.

I’m going to have to get caught up sooner or later.  Football, pumpkin carving party, training runs and best of all?  I introduced the kids to trail running!  We’ve gone for three runs so far; started out first a short 1 miler, then 1.5 miler and finally just over 2 miles.  They love the trails, the mud and stream crossings as much as I do.  Can’t wait to write that post and share those pics and videos!

Leave a Reply

