Another Hodge-Podge Post; Fresh20 / ANOTHER 50k and a whole lot more fun!

With everything going on in our lives I could probably make a new post every other day — but then again, with everything going on in our life – to quote Sweet Brown, my kids’ and their favorite internet video – “Ain’t nobody got time for that!”

I can’t believe I watched that whole thing for the first time just last week.  Just goes to prove that with audio mixers you could make a song out of anything!

Jeremy and Emily’s version –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CT5EDUrzs3E

Anyways —  back to my post.

I guess I’ll start with a Fresh 20 update.  This week’s dinner menu consisted of Lemon Herb Roast Chicken w/ cauliflower and chard saute and black-eyed peas, Thai Style Tilapia in coconut broth with brown rice, Creamy Cheddar and chicken macaroni, Sausages and black-eyed peas with carrot ginger soup, Coconut Tofu Rice Noodles with carrots, cilantro and fresh lime.

Unfortunately Jeremy was sent home from school sick on Monday so I brought him to work with me for a few hours then we headed home so he could rest – and I could start dinners for the week.  Another thing I like about The Fresh 20 is how easy it is all laid out and the page that gives you all the “Make ahead” items so you could save some time during the week.  Today I only chose to roast the chickens as a make ahead and then we would have the Lemon Herb Roasted Chicken for dinner.

Prep work for Lemon Herb Chicken

Prep work for Lemon Herb Chicken

I honestly think this was the first time I roasted a chicken – or actually, anything for that matter.  Roasting time took quite a while, I had to add a little bit of water to the bottom of the pan too.  Not sure if I missed something, but there just didn’t seem to be enough juices to baste with.  In any case, it turned out wonderful!  You would think that sooner or later, I’ll get better with presentation 🙂

How do they cut it so well in magazines w/o smearing the seasoning??  Maybe I need a sharper knife.

How do they cut it so well in magazines w/o smearing the seasoning?? Maybe I need a sharper knife.

Next time I make this I think I am going to have to add something else to the cauliflower chard saute.  Just seems to me that it needs more color.

Looks a bit bland - but it was very tastey!

Looks a bit bland – but it was very tastey!

The kids absolutely loved this one... "Best chicken ever"

The kids absolutely loved this one… “Best chicken ever”

I was extremely pleased with how well this turned out and the fact that I now had two more dinners almost done because two more this week use the chicken I roasted today.

Tuesday’s dinner I was a bit nervous about.  Jeremy is up for trying pretty much anything but Emily takes a little bit more persuading.  That said, you could imagine her dismay when she saw this on the stove.

Tilapia - YUM!

Tilapia – YUM!

Thai Style Tilapia in Coconut Broth w/ Brown Rice – again, I have lots of white rice on hand so until I need to buy more – I’ll substitute white for brown.  I’ve made tilapia before for Emily, but it was breaded so when she saw this cooking she was not a happy camper but as the cooking progressed the house started smelling so good, I think she was secretly anxious to taste it.

Coconut broth - green onions, red bell peppers, carrots, ginger, garlic cilantro.....

Coconut broth – green onions, red bell peppers, carrots, ginger, garlic cilantro…..

IMG_3093

Getting better with presentation, no?

Getting better with presentation, no?

A little sloppy with the sauce, but it’s pretty easy to make something this good, look good.  The ONLY complaint I got out of this dinner?  “Do I have to eat the green stuff on the rice?”  They loved this dinner too!  They also had a lot of fun sucking on the limes and making involuntary funny faces 🙂

Dinners like the past couple and most of those that I’ve made lately bring me great satisfaction.  I love the fact that my kids are more adventurous eaters than most.  I love the fact that they eat so healthy and enjoy it.  I love the fact that we sit down to dinner every night together and that our typical dinner conversation still takes place and many times isn’t prompted by me.  Typical conversation – “So xxxx, how was your day?  What was your favorite part?” then the person asked, asks someone else.  That’s how dinners are supposed to be.

Ok – back to our next dinner – I used some of the roasted chicken for this one so it was almost done already.  Creamy Cheddar and Chicken Macaroni.

Jeremy believes that he is lactose intolerant – whether he is or not is yet to be determined.  Maybe/maybe not – doesn’t much matter.  He eats, right?  He could eat cheese on tacos and cheese on pizza, but he will not touch regular milk – only drinks soy, will not eat chocolate, ice-cream, and any other kinds of cheeses besides what I mentioned.  So when I made this dinner I substituted vanilla soy milk for the milk called out in the recipe, but left in the shredded cheese – reasoning with him that it’s the same cheese he likes on his tacos.

IMG_3087

Slightly different in color, i think due to the soy milk

Slightly different in color, i think due to the soy milk

I probably should have thought about this one a bit more before deciding to make it.  I think that once the kids heard, macaroni and cheese – they had a preconceived notion as to what it was going to be.  They loved the chicken, tolerated the swiss chard, but the macaroni and cheese – wasn’t received as well.  They ate it, it was good – but not a two thumbs up and probably won’t be a repeat dinner.  I liked it and I think that the vanilla soy milk gave it a nice sweet taste to it.

There are a couple more dinners that I’ve yet to make with this week’s menu, but I’m going to have to go to the store and pick up some additional items.  My only problem with this program is I keep forgetting which ingredients are shared with recipes so I end up using up some of them in dinners – so back to the store for some more carrots, red bell peppers, and ginger.

As far as my running and training program goes – training for my next 100 mile races doesn’t really start for a couple more weeks, but I’m trying to maintain a base of a 50k.  If I could run a 50k at will without any training – I think training for my next race and the race itself should be much easier than it was last year. This weekend, I didn’t have an official 50k race planned, but I didn’t have my kids this weekend so I planned my own.

North Chagrin Metroparks is about a 7-9 mile run from my house (depending on which way I go).  I was supposed to meet a friend up there at 9:30am so I thought;  I’ll run there, run 8 miles or so with her then run home – would put me at about 26-27miles.  Then later in the day I was meeting some more friends up there, running another 5-6 miles before we hit the Firehouse for some “refueling”.

I left my house around 7:30, ran to the park.

Gotta love catching the sunrise on a run -- except for the fact that i ripped my shorts on the guard rail i hopped to take this picture.

Gotta love catching the sunrise on a run — except for the fact that i ripped my shorts on the guard rail I hopped to take this picture.

'Boardwalk in the woods' - approx. a qtr. mile long.

‘Boardwalk in the woods’ – approx. a qtr. mile long.

Cant say it enough --- love these trails.

Cant say it enough — love these trails.

When I arrived at the park I was excited to see Charlie, Michele and Laurie.  I was a little early (almost 45min) so the four of us headed out for a quick 4 miles before circling back.  Unfortunately my friend’s schedule is crazy hectic and she tries to squeeze in so much – I received a txt from her apologizing but she wasn’t going to make it.  Next time 😉

Charlie and Michele still had another 9-10 miles left to run so I joined them in their journey through the park.  We ran through some trails there that i wasn’t familiar with and had a great time, circled back to the parking lot where they parked after about 9 miles and chatted some before they departed for home.  I tended to a blister that started, ate a bagel, downed a bit of Coca-Cola and started my trip home.  I took a little different way but it was nice to finally have the 20mph windgusts to my back!  I arrived home after 4hrs31min and 25.93 miles, grabbed a few bites to eat before heading out for run #2.  Check out the data for this run here – Run#1.

Run #2 was really just an excuse to get a group of us together, head up to The Firehouse for some food, drinks and lots of laughs – as if our group needs an excuse to do that.  Laurie came back for the second run, Doug was there as well as Jason and Jocyeln – whom it was really nice to see – been too long.  Surprisingly enough I don’t have any photos from this run.  We covered 5.88 miles no emphasis on speed at all – just fun!  Here is the data for run #2.

Although I took about a 2hr break in-between runs, I’m still considering this a 50k for the day – 31.81 miles, covered and even including my break at home – done within the usual amount of time a 50k gives you to complete it.  Now – 4,345 calories burned, including the 2,500 I’m allotted for the day give me 6,845 calories I need to consume today — off to the Firehouse!  Three 50k’s completed in three weeks?  Love it!

5 thoughts on “Another Hodge-Podge Post; Fresh20 / ANOTHER 50k and a whole lot more fun!

  1. You’re talking me in to trying that menu planning site! I’m struggling to come up with healthy stuff that doesn’t break the bank this winter. Love that the kiddos are willing to try anything-that will make them good eaters for the rest of their lives! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Can YOU SMELLLLLL WHAT This.Kid.is.COOKING!!!! | No Giving Up Now

Leave a Reply

