Perry Newburn – Badass record holder for running across the US and all around hell of a guy!

For those in the running community, you may have heard of Perry Newburn.  He gained notoriety this year as the newest honorary member of OUTRUN.

Perry Newburn - Honorary OUTRUN member

Perry Newburn – Honorary OUTRUN member

Oh yeah, he also achieved another “little” feat — HE SET A NEW WORLD RECORD FOR RUNNING ACROSS THE UNITED STATES!!!

Perry’s interview #1 – When he came up with the idea

I don’t remember when it was exactly that I heard about Perry and his plans on breaking the world record for running across the United States.   But I did read that he was making an attempt to complete this task in 46 days to help raise money for a couple children’s charities (Sunshine Heros and Koru Care New Zealand).   I also read that during his adventure he was turning 60!  How many chances do you get to meet someone with so much drive and motivation.  Someone who is doing this not just for himself, but to motivate others all the while raising money for a couple children’s’ charities?  Exactly.  I knew I wanted to meet him, and play a small part in helping him complete his task.

I had a lot going on this month;  Woodstock and Not Yo Mommas already eliminated two weekends out of the month in which I would be able to meet up with him, so as my window of opportunity was closing the morning of September 13th had to be it.  I messaged Angie, Perry’s crew and told her that I would like to join Perry in the morning.  She gave me their planned route for the day and where I should meet them in the morning.

My friends and I had planned a night training run on September 12th.  We met at the park at 9:00pm and planned to run at least 2-3hrs.  It had been a long time since I ran through the night and it was a nice change-up from my usual runs.  We finished up almost 14 trail miles in 2.5hrs.  So at 11:30pm I headed home to get cleaned up, change and start my 4hr trek down to Springfield Ohio.

I left my house as soon as I was done getting cleaned up.  The drive was a bit long but pretty easy.  I pulled into the gas station that Angie told me to meet them at and managed to sleep for nearly 30min, whoohoo!!! LOL!  Perry ended up sleeping in a little bit as well, I cannot imagine why he was tired…

Here’s his morning video from our start. Morning of our run

After a brief introduction, watching Perry record his video and telling them that although I would LOVE to hang with him for a ton of miles, I really only had time for four, we were off!  Four miles out, then I would have to run four miles back, then make the four-hour drive back home to make it to my cousin’s wedding in time.   One would think that if I was going to make a 4hr drive to go run with someone that I would read up on them a little bit… but one would not no me so well and be wrong!  Everything I know about Perry I learned on our brief run from Springfield Ohio heading West on Rt. 40.  He is really a remarkable man and to try to summarize his trials and accomplishments in my little blog post would not do him justice.   This was his very first time in the States and after hearing his story, directly from him, I admire him even more.  I urge you to check him out.

Our four miles BLEW by quickly, stopping a couple of times to take in his surroundings and to discuss his route with Angie.  We hit four miles and Angie suggested that if I wanted to, I could run another four with him until he hits a long straight section of the road, and she would drive me back to my car.  Now how could I say no to that!
Checking out some Springfield Ohio history

Checking out some Springfield Ohio history

 We came to the end of our eight miles and Amber from Springfield was there to meet up with us.
Amber and Perry.  Thanks for the ride back to my car Amber!

Amber and Perry. Thanks for the ride back to my car Amber!

Unfortunately she wasn’t able to run with Perry, but she brought him a care package.  We took a couple of pictures and rather than Angie leaving Perry on his own, Amber, even though she never met me nor even talked to me before, gave me a ride back to my car.  Runners are really some of the best kinds of people 🙂
Perry continued on his way; day in day out running between 40-60+ miles per day.  Here’s a couple of pics from his Facebook page.  For more click here to check him out and for additional links to donate to his cause.
10731013_957846350897556_9155419286405334935_n
1907913_961739487174909_7576651677419923037_n
  10273431_941284322553759_7231380501136014747_n
And I would be remiss to not also congratulate Angie and her Sister-in-Law Becki for crewing for Perry.  It was with their help and support that enabled Perry to achieve such a huge goal!
Job well done ladies!!

Job well done ladies!!

 And while he missed the overall world record of 46days 8hrs and 36min set by 28 year old Frank Giannino in 1980, he did break the Masters Record of 52days 11hrs and 58min set by Marshal Ulrich in 2008 and finished his run in 51days 16hrs and 40min.  Way to go Perry!  You are a serious badass, whom I am grateful to have met.
#goperrygo

#goperrygo

Leave a Reply

